What a wild week it’s been…

So I had a draft in the hopper about taking going back to class with MeanMadam and changing my mindset and getting some good insight and really liking it and thinking about adding her class to the regular rotation… and I think I will blog about that soon… but then the course of our week took an unexpected turn and I’ve barely had a sane moment to think, let alone blog.

On Sunday, I skipped my second class and brought BoyMowgli into the City because he saw a posting at The Ballet School for this audition and wanted to give it a go. ABT was coming and needed ten child “supers” for the Cinderella cast. I talked to him about his barely meeting the height and experience requirements and the unlikelihood of them looking for longhaired boys, but agreed to take him.

WP_20150322_003

He’s performing as “Winter Page” (the boy half of a boy/girl pair who basically follow the Winter Fairy around) and we’ve been here at the theater for rehearsal into the night every day since!

The best part has been that four other boys from the level above him at TBS are also “Season Pages” so he’s connected with them and met a few new boys as well. And he’s getting to see and meet the ABT company members as they work!

He’s first cast. Last night was opening night (although they had an audience for dress rehearsal earlier in the day) and he was through the moon! He did great. When I went to pick him up at the stage door he wanted to know, “Do I pick up a check each show, or just one at the end of the run?”. These are the important questions.

Leave a comment